top of page

Kilmeena - County Junior Champions 1977

In the time that we are experiencing, this is probably the most opportune time to remind present players and parishioners, of the team that captured the coveted McDonnell Cup for the first time in the history of the Club, beating Carramore in the County Junior Final on a gloomy Sunday in McHale Park Castlebar.

A good number of the U-14 team that brought the first county title to the Club in 1970 also featured on the team.

Also headlining are the U-16 B winners of 1978.

It would be helpful, as you scroll through the images to identify the people therein so that we can record their names for prosperity accurately.

We should be appreciative to Frank Dolan for giving his kind permission to publish the images.

Back Row L-R: Michael Ryan, Gerry Ryan, Jim Duffy, Padraig Gavin, Frank Fitzgerald, Liam Gibbons, Joe Duffy and Billy Fahy R.I.P.

Front Row L-R: Tommy Staunton, Michael Duffy, Richie Gill, Padraic Barrett, Michael Gavin Capt, Vincent Ryan and George Golden.

Carrowmore Junior Finalists 1977


bottom of page