top of page

Valentine's Ball❤

Report by Sarah Hogan

Our annual Kilmeena Valentines Dinner Dance was held on Saturday the 9th of February in Knockranny House Hotel. As always, the Kilmeena Dinner Dance was an opportunity for our community and club members to socialize and celebrate the fantastic achievements that our club teams had throughout the 2018 year. A brilliant night was shared between club members and the wider community with the success of the night marking the outstanding development our club has achieved in recent years. The Kilmeena Dinner Dance also acts as an awards evening for minor and senior teams from both our ladies and men’s clubs. Laura Moore was named as our Minor Ladies Most Improved Player of the Year. Laura excelled in training sessions, which in turn, showed in matches. Susannah Horgan was named as our Minor Ladies Player of the Year. Dave O’Malley presented Susannah with the Cleary Brothers Shield. Su who is the minor goalkeeper, was credited for her outstanding and crucial performances throughout the year. Helena Kelly was crowned as our Junior Ladies Player of the Year. Pete Feehan presented Helena the shield in memory of Noreen Feehan. Helena captained our junior team this year, which was also her first year playing for Kilmeena Ladies. Patrick Golden was named as the Senior Men’s Most Improved Player of the Year for his hard work and dedication to the team. A Kilmeena Club Certificate of Achievement was presented to Jack Carney for his involvement in the Mayo U-17 Panel. Conor Madden was named as the Senior Men’s Player of the Year. Conor was rewarded for his outstanding performances throughout the footballing year both in training and while playing matches. The inaugural Cillian McDonagh Memorial Players Player of Year was awarded to Niall Feehan. The inaugural Alan Browne Memorial Minor Player of the Year was awarded to Niall Mullin. Both of these awards are dedicated to honour our late club members, Cillian and Alan. The Barrett Family Memorial Young Player of the Year was awarded to Kevin Ryder. Kevin Ryder was credited for his influential role in securing The West Mayo Cusack Cup alongside side his teammates. A huge congratulations to all our Kilmeena ladies and men who were recognised for their dedication to the club and talent which was demonstrated on the pitch. Our Club Person of the Year was awarded to a very deserving Trish Hogan. Teresa Smyth, Midwest Furniture presented Trish with her trophy. Trish was one of the founding members of our Kilmeena Ladies Club alongside Willie Keaveney and John McDonald, she was credited for her hard work and dedication to the club over the past eight years. She recently stepped down as the secretary of Bord na nÓg and Kilmeena LGFA. Trish, for the past ten years, has continued the voluntary role of writing the Kilmeena/Carrowholly notes for the Mayo News. Kilmeena GAA Club are so thankful for Trish’s commitment to the club and community over the past number of years. 

Kilmeena GAA Club would like to extend a huge thank you to everyone who made this night so successful, especially the event coordinators and event sponsors. Thanks also to our special guest Joe MacMahon, former Tyrone player and to Councillor Brendan Mulroy and Councillor Christy Hyland for attending. 

Here's to a great 2019 football season, which promise's to be an even more exciting one in the black and white!🏁🏁

Link to photos by Frank Dolan

bottom of page