top of page

Kilmeena GAA Dinner Dance 2020

View the photos from the evening here.

On Saturday February 15th, Kilmeena GAA Club celebrated its 6th annual Valentines Dinner Dance with club members and the wider community. As always, the event was an opportunity for all club members and the community to socialise and celebrate the successes our club has achieved over the years. The development of our club rests on the hard work and dedication of our volunteers. Chairman John McDonald highlighted on the night that the Club needs to be organised in terms of coaching, administration, funding, communication, facilities and development. The Club aims to inspire the youth, to support our players and members, and to build friendships within the community. The success of our Dinner Dance reflects the commitment of our volunteers and the progress our club has boasted in recent years. As always, the Kilmeena Dinner Dance acts as an awards evening for the 2019 year.

Michael Ryan was proudly presented with the honour of Club Person of the Year. This award was kindly sponsored by Midwest Furniture and presented to Michael by Teresa Smyth. Michael was acknowledged for his loyal dedication to the club which is recognised by his involvement in management and coaching over the years, and his current service as kit man for the men's senior team. Michael continues to support our players and club and is a deserved winner of this year's award.

Our Community Person of the Year award was presented to Caragh Ryan by guest speaker, Minister for Rural & Community Development, Michael Ring TD. Caragh was acknowledged for her dedication and fundraising efforts in aid of Western Alzheimer’s. At the end of last year, Caragh was also a recipient of the Mayo People of the Year award. All at Kilmeena GAA wish Caragh the best with her future fundraising endeavours.

Dearbhla Grealis was named Senior Ladies Player of the Year. Davy Feehan presented Dearbhla with the Feehan Shield in memory of Noreen Feehan. Dearbhla was acknowledged for her dedication and strong performances at the full back position.

The Minor Ladies Player of the Year was presented to Shannon Bourke by Minister Michael Ring. Shannon was presented with the Cleary Brothers Shield. Shannon was recognised for her scoring skills that she brought to both the minor and senior ladies’ teams. Minister Michael Ring presented Katie Hogan with the award for Players' Player of the Year. Katie was acknowledged for her commitment to the team, and her ability to perform under pressure.

Pete McDonagh presented the Cillian McDonagh Memorial Players' Player of Year which was awarded to Sean Ryder. Minister Ring presented the Alan Browne Memorial Minor Player of the Year to Mark Hastings. Both of these awards are dedicated to honour our late club members, Cillian and Alan. The Barrett Family Memorial Young Player of the Year was awarded to John McGlynn by Jane Barrett. John was credited for his immense scoring abilities and his visible addition to the team.

Brian Mortimer was awarded the Most Improved Player of the Year. Minister Ring presented the Manager's Player of the Year to Darragh Keaveney. Darragh was recognised for his performances throughout the season with the club and also his achievement in playing with the Mayo Junior team. A further congratulations to our Kilmeena men’s U21 team on their County Championship title and the Junior Team on their Cusack Cup success.

Kilmeena GAA Club would like to extend a huge 'thank you' to everyone who made this night so memorable. A special thanks to the event coordinators, the event and prize sponsors, the band and to Knockranny House Hotel for hosting the night. Thanks also to our special guest Minister Michael Ring, who has aided our club’s development in recent years. The 2020 season is now underway and Kilmeena GAA and LGFA are hopeful that this year will bring more success and accomplishments to the club.

View the photos from the evening here.


bottom of page