top of page

U16 Boys secure semi-final spot

U16 Boys Gaelic Football League – Division 2, Round 7.

Tuesday 8th May, 2018

Kilmeena v Breaffy

In this final round match, Kilmeena were away to Breaffy.

Throw-in was set for 7pm and a win here would guarantee Kilmeena a semi-final spot in the division. Weather conditions were dry with a light breeze; providing an ideal evening for football.

With Breaffy setting up defensively, good scoring opportunities were at a premium during the early stages of the game and the first quarter had elapsed before Ian Murphy got Kilmeena on the scoreboard. Breaffy responded soon afterwards with a point from a free.

Round about the 20 minute mark, Kian Moore felt unwell and had to leave the field. His replacement, Harry Sheridan slotted in at full forward and it wasn’t long before he landed Kilmeena’s first goal. Kilmeena tapped on 4 further points and Breaffy 2 points to give a half time scoreline of 1 – 5 to 3 points in favour of the visitors.

Kian Moore returned to the field of play for the second half and Kilmeena continued to press the Breaffy defence. A high looping ball into the Breaffy goal mouth area was fisted into the back of the net by Sean Prenty, to give the visitors a positive start to the second half. This was followed shortly afterwards by another major from the boot of Jason McGlynn. The Kilmeena lads were now cruising but Breaffy mounted a fightback and through a combination of scores from open play and a number of pointed frees, the home side were back to within 3 points of the visitors.

It was then that the Kilmeena lads had to dig a little deeper - defending resolutely for the final 5 minutes of the contest. In the dying minutes of the contest, Kilmeena broke forward into the Breaffy half of the field, utilising excellent running play and a final pass to Sean Prenty; who blasted the ball to the Breaffy net, to seal the result for the visitors.

So a good away win for Kilmeena.

Next up – a Semi Final contest away to Bohola Moy Davitts, on Monday 14th May, 2018.

The panel present this evening comprised of the following:

Cathal Cawley, Ben Lennon, Adam Sheridan, Tom Smythe, Oisin Grimley, Ronan O’Donnell, Robbie Staunton, Mikey Hastings, Kian Moore, Mark Hastings, Jason McGlynn, Ian Murphy, Chris McNally, Cillian O’Grady, Sean Prenty, Daniel O’Malley, Jack Walsh, Harry Sheridan, Darragh Slattery.

Kilmeena; 4 - 7

Breaffy; 1 - 10

bottom of page